Gluten Free Grains
Grains are the most important part of our lives when talking about food. We need food to live and the most important food items come from grains. The bread we eat, cereals, sauces, pastas and noodles, all come from grains. If you have Celiac disease then grains are the most important things that need to be changed in your life. Wheat, barley and rye contain gluten and patients with Celiac disease must avoid gluten. They need to switch to different types of grains, which is one hard task. Gluten free grains can replace other types of grains but people who have to switch between the two, have many problems. The difference of taste is just one of the many problems that people face when they have to eat gluten free grains.
The list of grains that contain gluten is a short one. Wheat is the most largely used grain in the world. It is used in making breads, pastas, noodles and almost anything that we could think of. Another thing to notice is that it is used commonly in all the countries. No matter if you are eating pizza or burger, there is contribution from wheat, barley or rye in those foods as well. Quitting these grains is not an easy task especially when the number of people in the world who are suffering from Celiac disease is just one percent. This means that most of the restaurants and hotels you visit will not have gluten free menus. However, many restaurants serve foods made from gluten free grains now.
Gluten Free Grains for a gluten free diet
Now we know that most of our foods items contain wheat or barley but it doesn’t mean that you have to quit everything if you are on a gluten free diet. Gluten free grains can be used in the preparation of all these foods but you have to compromise on a few things. In dishes that have been prepared from gluten free grains, you will have to endure the texture, feeling, taste and softness. People who are on gluten free diet find it very difficult to prepare pizza dough in the absence of gluten. Pizza dough can be prepared with gluten free grains but you will not be able to get the perfect elasticity and expansion in your dough. To gain the required elasticity, you will have to add a few other substances.
Commonly used Gluten Free Grains
Some of the most commonly used gluten free grains include rice, corn, millet, quinoa, buckwheat and sorghum. All the names that we have mentioned are gluten free grains. These gluten free grains are used in the making of variety of dishes. Corn is considered the safest gluten free grain among the ones we have mentioned. Almost anything that has been made from corn can be eaten by the people who are gluten intolerant. Inclusion of rice in gluten free grains is debatable presently. Most of the doctors and experts have approved rice as a perfect gluten free grain but still few things need confirmation. You can go ahead and start using the gluten free grains to prepare almost any dish at home. You can find variety of packed products in the market that have been prepared with these grains.