Gluten Free Grains
Gluten free grains contain more fiber and nutrients than the gluten filled grains. People are getting aware regarding the importance of gluten free grains and expanding the use of these grains in their everyday diet. Gluten filled grains are not suitable for people having Celiac disease. In this disease, the surface of the small intestine gets damage by gluten and does not allow the body to absorb the essential nutrients from the meal, which is important for the body. Grains that contain gluten are wheat, rye, barley, kamut, farro and bulgur and are not suitable for gluten intolerant people.
For a healthy living, it is mandatory to transform your diet into gluten free. Gluten free grains can be useful for the Celiac disease patients and even for those who want to reduce weight or maintain a healthy living. Some of the gluten free grains are:
Brown Rice: Brown rice is also known as whole grain rice. It is filled with nutrients, as the bran layer of rice is still there; only the outer husk has been removed. This is the cause of high fiber content in rice, which is good to maintain cholesterol level of the body. Brown rice can be used as a substitute for white rice in many dishes. Brown rice has high level of amino acid lysine, phosphorus, vitamin B6, magnesium selenium and vitamin E.
Gluten Free Grains – wild rice
Wild rice: Wild rice is a grain with a chewy texture. This gluten free grain is made up of water grass seeds and an amazing source of vitamins riboflavin, potassium, niacin, thiamine and phosphorus. Wild rice is a low-fat grain and used in stuffing, salads and as a side dish.
Corn: Corn is also called as maize or cornmeal, which is a gluten free grain. It is sweet in flavor and used in making breads and muffins. Cornmeal can also be used as a cereal in breakfast. Popcorn is also the product that forms from corn which is 100% gluten free. Corn contains vitamin C, phosphorous, fiber, thiamine, manganese, foliate and vitamin B5.
Amaranth: Amaranth is not a full grain; it can be called as a seed or an annual herb. Amaranth has a nutty taste and can be used as a crunchy snack and can be cooked like a corn. This gluten free grain is nutrient-dense and can be used in different recipes as a thickening agent. Amaranth contains vitamins A, C and E, linileic acid, lysine, fiber, calcium, potassium, and protein, phosphorous and iron.
Quinoa: Quinoa has the essential amino acids and is known as super gluten free grain due to high quantities of iron and potassium. It contains vitamin B6, magnesium, manganese, thiamine, riboflavin, copper and folic acid. Quinoa is not a grain but a seed belonging to pigweed or goosefoot family. It has a nutty flavor and takes only 10 minutes to get cooked.
Gluten Free Grains – Buckwheat
Buckwheat: Buckwheat is a gluten free grain that contains proteins, vitamin B, calcium and iron. Its flour has an interesting texture and can be used to give wheat like texture to the bakery items. The flavor of buckwheat is nutty and used in various dishes made with vegetables like tomatoes and olive oil.
Millet: One of the gluten free grains is millet, which has a sweet, nutty and mild flavor. It is a nutrient- dense grain that contains protein, vitamin E, iron, potassium and phosphorous. Millet can be used as a substitute of potatoes and rice. Toast or grilled millet has an enhanced nutty taste.